demiCouture | VANCOUVER FASHION & STYLE BLOG + VANCOUVER FASHION + GLOBAL FASHION


Vogue Gives New Canadian Subscribers The Shaft
October 13, 2008, 1:56 pm
Filed under: 2008, Random | Tags: , ,

I understand that with duties, taxes and all that other garbage; Canadian subscribers to US magazines will be paying a bit more than their American counterparts.  Even so, I find a price gap between the two country’s subscribe rates to be completely uncalled for.

If I was to have my magazines sent to a rented P.O. box 20 minutes away from my home in Canada in the USA, I would be paying the affordable sum of $15 per year for a year of Vogue USA.  However, since I live across the border, Canada Post’s link to Condé Nast’s Canadian subscriber sign up page demands that I for over 60 freaking dollars for my subscription.  Did I mention the billing currency is still in US dollars? Give me a break!

I checked out GQ’s subscription rate for American and Canadian subscribers, and found that their rates were far more reasonable.  For 20 issues, Canadians pay just under $20, while Americans are charged the measley sum of $20 for two years (plus they get a buy one, get one free option!).

Come on Vogue, get with it.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Price differentials of magazine subscriptions get me mad 😦 Concur with you – come on, Vogue. Get with it!

Comment by Raul

I pay 50$ a year for Vogue. Its steep, but I do it. I want British Vogue too, but it would cost something like 120$. Brutal.

Comment by Erin Reiger




Leave a Reply

