demiCouture | VANCOUVER FASHION & STYLE BLOG + VANCOUVER FASHION + GLOBAL FASHION


Harem Pants? Really?
October 3, 2008, 5:28 pm
Filed under: 2008, Trending, Women's Fashion | Tags: , , , , , ,

 Though harem pants have caught on like wildfire in Europe (particularly Spain I hear), I really can’t see this one taking off in North America (at least off the catwalks).

Harem pants (or Hammer pants for those who remember the M.C.) tend to do an ace job hiding historic trouble spots for women (the thighs and butt), though to what end? I have yet to see this look pulled off on the street even in European style blogs.  Perhaps I haven’t been looking hard enough; though I have a hunch this one is just not meant to be.

My mind remains open, though.  I would have to say there would be a requirement of height for this trend; seeing even a stick thin petite woman wear harem pants would be entirely unflattering.  We’ll see how the Comme des Garçons for H&M versions fare when that line is released next November.

The pants to the right are from Maje at Net-A-Porter ($165)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am totally with you on this one…just spent the summer in Austria, and though these were everywhere, they were really unfortunate looking.

Comment by GLITT3R SG

I’m thick-thighed and petite, but there’s a jersey pair screaming to be bought. They look very comfy, like a pair of jodhpur leggings.

Comment by Andrea

I hope you do wonders with them! Where are you planning to buy them from?

Comment by Victoria Potter

I actually love them because in our culture we already wore similar pants. I think they will be acquired taste in fashion. I can understand how some people may think they are hideous but for me they are in good taste if worn the right way.

Comment by thefashioneasta

@thefashioneasta: I’m personally willing to try them before I make my final judgement; we’ll see from there.

Comment by Victoria Potter




Leave a Reply

