demiCouture | VANCOUVER FASHION & STYLE BLOG + VANCOUVER FASHION + GLOBAL FASHION


For The Love Of Band Jackets
February 6, 2008, 1:03 am
Filed under: 2008, Men's Fashion, Women's Fashion | Tags: , , , , ,

While I would selfishly like to keep band jackets under appreciated and relatively unknown to the general public, I can’t fairly keep from posting about them…I love them far too much!

I am a fan of the general military look; and band uniform pieces offer that type of look without being set in the usual boundaries of army-esque jackets.

I luckily found mine off eBay (and for the relatively scant price of $170 CA with shipping; especially for it being an antique).  For those that can pull off the look, band jackets offer a unique look without much effort involved.

Occasionally designers pump out their own brand of this style of jacket, but I find that the design is either too far from the original style or the piece is far too expensive.

I can’t wait until the weather gets kinder to bare flesh…I have a pair of black high waisted shorts that are counting the days until they can be worn in conjunction with this glorious jacket! (Aah, the joys of living on the west coast!)

For The Love Of Band Jackets

The photo above was taken by Kenneth for an art project in his art class.  Obviously I wore my beloved (and thankfully warm) wool jacket that day.

The rest of the photos can be viewed here.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

